June Wrap-Up & July TBR

Even though June was a hell of a month for me, I SOMEHOW managed to read 4 books. Well… one of them I finished on July 1st but let’s pretend I finished it in June ok? I consider it to be a good month reading wise because I had a bunch of exams and projects and stuff to prepare for so 4 books is actually really great! Here we go!

JUNE WRAP-UP

  1. Atonement by Ian McEwan – this one was for school, English literature class to be more exact. I watched the movie before (I know, how could I have done such an atrocious thing?!) and I was… ok, pretty good but I think the book will be better. After like… 2 months of daily checking the availability of this book at the library I finally found it. Read it. Liked it. Read about it. Wrote around 1500 words about it in an essay so I can say that I’ve gotten into it. A lot. I posted a review of it here.
  2. Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys – I heard a lot about it, seen it around a lot and finally decided to read it. So so glad I did. It’s a book that I could barely put it down. So much that I decided to read it instead of studying for one of my exams! Worth it. This book is a masterpiece and I’ve tried to put into words how I feel about it here. I honestly think it’s a must read for people that like historical fiction.
  3. &  4.  go together because they are Siege and Storm and Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo ♥ If you know me, you must also know that I am Grisha obsessed. I’ve read the Grisha trilogy 4 times now and I don’t think I’ll get enough of it any time soon. Those two are part 2 and 3 of the trilogy and if I am to be honest here, Siege and Storm is my fave because of Nikolai Lantsov. These books are very dear to me and before I start going on and on about them, you can find more… elaborate thoughts on the series from me here.

So thats’s how the month of June looks like from my reading perspective. Busy month but with great reads that managed to keep me sane. As possible. I obviously recommend all of them, especially Leigh Bardugo. Grisha obsessed remember?

Anyway, this looks like it will be a short post. I’d rather not bore you. Too much. So, on we go to…

 JULY TBR

I don’t usually make plans. Because I can’t keep or follow them. Messy person here. But, I try to at least have an outline… idea of what I want to read. I have some specific books in mind and I’ll list them below but even I don’t know in this moment what my July Wrap-Up will look like. Why? I go to the library and rarely leave without at least a book so it will show up in the Wrap-Up even though it might not show up here.

  1. The Sacrifice Box by Martin Stewart – I took this from the library because… it had a pretty cover. Yup, you’ve read that right. Later I figured that it’s horror and I don’t read that but… I said “Why not just try it?”. Bunch of kids, sacrificed stuff to a weird box in the woods and then after 4 years strange things start to happen. Why not?
  2. Legendary by Stephanie Garber – sequel to Caraval  that I read and liked very much. You bet that when I saw it in the showcase at the library I had to take it. I’m usually late when it comes to hyped books but I’ve managed to stay away from spoilers. Yaaaay! Very excited for this and I really, REALLY hope I’ll like it.
  3. Six of CrowsCrooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo – I’ve wanted to reread these wonderful books for a while and I just can’t resist any longer. I’ve missed the Dregs too much and what else am I supposed to do with my pining for more Grisha world stories until King of Scars anyway?

These are my… certain reads for this month. I have others books I really want to read but have no idea which ones to choose and I’ll just go with whatever I feel like reading. However, some potential books are: A Conjuring Of Light  by V.E. Schwab, The Name of The Wind by Patrick Rothfuss, The House of Hades by Rick Riordan, Iron Gold by Pierce Brown, The Cruel Prince by Holly Black if by some miracle it arrives this month and whatever else catches my eye at the library.

That’s about it for my June Wrap-Up and July TBR. Expect reviews for the books I’ll read this month and maybe some other stuff. Bye!

 

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started